lotus flowers (:

Howdy (;
So, against all odds I’m alive! Not that anyone would tell by looking at the blog. Sorry… I’m also quite well (; since I recently returned from a trip to Madrid and Barcelona. That felt gooood (: but since all good things come to an end (don’t worry, bad things also come to an end!) I’ve had to return and when freshly arrived I was told that my class, me included obviously, had a work to be due two days from then. That was yesterday. It went kind of well so now I have even more work to do and I’m happy, hyper and want to get things done quickly so I can have more folding time. Final years sure are tough for some… A friend of mine in a different class just goes to the beach, gets a nice tan, parties and so on and me? I’m surrounded of work by all sides, at all times. Yes, I just kicked the mountain of stuff to do when I went to Madrid and Barcelona. Once in a while it feels great to do so ((:
Onto origami: before I went a friend asked me to do some giant lotus flowers. And I did some 50 to 60 of them. The smaller had a diameter of 12cm/ 4.7in the medium 22cm/ 8.7in and the bigger ones (from two glued sheets of kraft paper) were almost 35cm/ 13.8in. That’s giant for me… I’m also folding some sakuradama and sonobe for, hmn…, 3 months or so… You’ll see it some time.

medium sized lotus

lotus in all 3 sizes

lotus in all 3 sizes, another view

"my" lotus at one of the shop windows

Here are some images of that… The lotus, medium and all of them, as well as one of the shop’s windows with them. If you look closely you’ll notice all the mistakes… Many people tell me I fold quite nicely and all that so look at my human side (;
Hopefully, I’ll see you soon!

7 Responses to “lotus flowers (:”

  1. Marichik Says:

    Hello!
    I like your lotus designs.
    You are lucky to do the window shop!

    Marichik :)

  2. Dragon Says:

    You choose the hard paper, so it looks not so well. If you use the soft paper, it looks better.

  3. Isa Says:

    It’s the thinner kraft paper I could find… I know there is thicker, even cardboard kraft but not thinner… I thought of using rice paper but I’d have to paint it and I didn’t had the time. The yellow and orange colour of the lotus was mandatory! How thinner is the paper you’re talking about?

  4. Kitsune Says:

    Olá!

    It’s one of my favorite models ^^ Aren’t those suppose to be folded from paper napkins? I’m surprised that you did it with regular paper. I tried to do them with regular paper once but made a mess out of it :P

    • Isa Says:

      Olá! (;

      Yes, they are perfectly doable (actually very easy and fun to do!) with paper napkins… But you can do them in regular paper too! It helps if the paper is somehow big and thin. If not the outer petals might be damaged when opening… But you can wet-fold the paper and it becomes easier to fold (:

  5. els Says:

    So creative..!!

  6. traditional: lotus flower (water lily) « Says:

    […] as water lily, as mentioned in previous posts (such as traditional: water lily/ lotus flower and lotus flowers (: more recently) is associated with new beginnings, and, in India, with the god Ganesh which is, […]

Leave a Reply

