kusudama: arabesque

This one is currently my favorite kusudama (along with the mosaic box). Very pretty and delicate, no glue required. The only troublesome thing is the assembly. It requires some patience: the last units were devastating but the overall result made me forget all the trouble I had.

small and pinkish version

The above picture is before curling. Or to be more accurate after trying to curl and failed because all my pens were to large. Bellow it’s the curled version with the brush I used to curl it. It’s a number 0 (zero) brush from da vinci and since it’s slightly conical it’s still a bit troublesome to curl the stamens with it.

small and pinkish version (curled, with brush)

I will definitively do the arabesque bigger and in other colors and will also try the other arrangements. But I’m so short of time now :( between cutting the paper for the kusudamas, folding and assembling it’s generally a month or more.

small and pinkish version (curled)

Here it is, the last photo. Since it’s my first try you can notice some mistakes in assembling. But it’s still very cute! :D
This kusudama was made with 30 units of origami paper, 7.5×7.5 cm, and when assembled has a diameter of approximately 10 cm. If you use origami paper, wrapping paper or kraft paper 7.5×7.5 cm is a good paper size but if you plan using heavier paper, like colored copy paper, I advice you to try with 12 or 15 cm square paper.

4 Responses to “kusudama: arabesque”

  1. Jane Says:

    Hi, I just stumbled across your weblog here, and I just wanted to say that I really like your photos, and your Kusudamas are beautiful! Thanks for introducing me to some new designs. :)

  2. hermia Says:

    it look really nice
    can you teach me how to make it
    thanks

  3. Rhea Says:

    my favourite kusdama :) you’ve used nice colours… i made mine all white :)

  4. Mira Says:

    wow, love it.
    Is there any instructions on how to make it? or could you send me some?

Leave a Reply

