kusudama: nishiki

After some hiatus time due to my exams (and they went the right way! Yay!) I humbly present you what is probably “widely” known as Japanese Brocade. The author of this kusudama is ISHIBASHI Minako; all I know is that the kusudama was originally diagrammed or at least presented in NOA Magazine #143 (1987). The unit is terribly simple to do and by adding an extra crease you can jump from the cube, 6 units, to the 12 and 30 units kusudama (: The kusudama’s name in japanese is にしき/ nishiki. If anyone can enlighten me about the kanji for the name of the author I’d much appreciate it! (; Thank you, Sam, by sharing: 石橋美奈子 is how ISHIBAKO Minako is written in japanese.

pu2_nishikia.png

pu2_nishikib.png

pu2_nishikic.png

I first tried and done the cube then did the 12 units and finally the 30 units. The first 12 units’ kusudama was just to test how it would look but even though I like the result. All are very addicting to do. As in many kusudama I recommend to use some glue in the 30 units… I couldn’t assemble mine without glue but perhaps I’m just clumsy. These units are made from square paper; I used kraft paper for the golden cube and wrapping paper for the flowery cube. The 12 units kusudama were made with regular 80g/m2 blue and pink paper and the other with pinkish wrapping paper; as for the 30 units kusudama they were made with two types of wrapping paper. Since I disliked the first, I assembled it too fast and it ended up not so neat looking, I did another version. Smaller, a bit too small but I liked it (:
I’ll try and update this post with paper types and kusudama measures very soon! I also have some more folded things to show. And even though I remain silent I’m also considering on showing diagrams for some popular folded and asked models in here.

10 Responses to “kusudama: nishiki”

  1. Sam Says:

    I believe the kanji are: 石橋 美奈子. I hope that displays properly!

  2. Isa Says:

    Thank you! I googled the kanji and Ishibaki Minako, the nishiki author, links do appear so it’s correct. Thank you (;
    And since I do have japanese and chinese support it does display perfectly.

  3. Ode Says:

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation :) Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Ode.

  4. erik Says:

    very nice!!!! I love kusudamas, but I don’t have any diagrams, could you please share some with me????????
    thank you!!!!!!

  5. Mo Says:

    Hi there…

    I know how to make a cube brocade and would like to make the 12 and 30 unit one too. Can you tell me what the extra crease is?

    Thanks!

  6. Maylinn Says:

    I would also would like to know which folds to make 12 and 30 units! I really love the one on the right in the second photo. :)

  7. Naru Says:

    It would be better if you could share the diagrams… :( I can’t found this anywere…

  8. Mo Says:

    For those looking for diagrams, I found this at Deviant Art:

    Still hoping to find instructions for the 12 or 30 unit brocades, though.

  9. katharina Says:

    i do so much love these brocades and enjoy the zen-state i get into, when im folding inoumerous modules, that i made a necklace with 14 cubes in 2 different sizes out of them.

  10. Alex Says:

    How do you assemble the 12 module Japanese brocade?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 72 other followers

